Cade Cunningham, Jalen Green headline 14-player USA Basketball Men’s Select Team

Cade Cunningham, the No. 1 overall pick in 2021, will join the USA Basketball Men’s Select Team.

Fourteen athletes have been selected to the 2023 USA Basketball Men’s Select Team, which will train with the USA Basketball Men’s National Team as it prepares for the 2023 FIBA ​​Men’s World Cup.

The USA Select Team has a roster of 11 current NBA players along with three veteran players with NBA, NBA G League, international and USA Basketball experience. Members of the USA Select Team train daily with the USA Men’s National Team from 3-6. August in Las Vegas.

Named to the 2023 USA Basketball Select Team are Cade Cunningham (Detroit Pistons), Jalen Duren (Detroit Pistons), Langston Galloway (Free Agent), Jalen Green (Houston Rockets), Quentin Grimes (New York Knicks), Chet Holmgren (Oklahoma City Thunder), John Jenkins (G League Ignite G Orleans), Eric M. (New Orleans Pelicans), Keegan Murray (Sacramento Kings), Payton Pritchard (Boston Celtics), Naz Reid (Minnesota Timberwolves) and Jalen Williams (Oklahoma City Thunder).

“We are confident that our USA Men’s Select Team will do a great job preparing the men’s national team for the 2023 FIBA ​​Men’s World Cup,” said Grant Hill, CEO of the USA Basketball National Team. “We have a good mix of young NBA players and those who helped us qualify for the World Cup, all of whom will play a big role in our success in Manila as we continue to develop the national team pipeline in the coming years.”

Ten members of the 2023 USA Men’s Select Team have previous USA Basketball experience at senior or junior competition and junior minicamps. Galloway, Jenkins and Mika helped the USA qualify for the World Cup by participating in multiple World Cup qualifying windows. Galloway played in five of the six windows, while Jenkins and Mika each played in two. Cunningham, Duren, Grimes, Holmgren and Pritchard have all earned medals as members of the USA Basketball junior national team at various FIBA ​​World Cup and Americas competitions.

Jenkins and Reid were both members of the 2021 USA Men’s Select Team that trained with the Men’s National Team ahead of the 2020 Summer Olympics.

Jones, Murphy, Murray and Williams will participate with USA Basketball for the first time in Las Vegas.

The list includes 10 former first-round NBA Draft picks and six players who were named to the NBA All-Rookie First or Second Team.

Orlando Magic head coach Jamahl Mosley will serve as the head coach of the 2023 USA Select Team and will be joined by assistants Jim Boylen (Indiana Pacers) and Matt Painter (Purdue University). Mosley served as an assistant coach on the 2021 USA Select Team and Boylen served as head coach of the 2021-23 USA Men’s World Cup Qualifying Team, which went 9-3 through six competitive windows from 2021-23.

“It is an honor to be selected to lead the USA Men’s Select Team and I am truly grateful,” said Mosley. “Having served as an assistant with the 2021 Select Team, I am fully aware of the importance our team will have in USA Basketball’s success this summer at the World Cup.”

Since the development of the USA Basketball Men’s National Team program in 2006, USA Basketball has selected and used seven (2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2016, 2019, 2021) USA Select Teams to help the USA National Team prepare for major international competitions.

Six members of the 2023 USA Basketball Men’s National Team have been on previously selected teams, including Mikal Bridges (2019), Jalen Brunson (2019), Anthony Edwards (2021), Tyrese Haliburton (2021), Brandon Ingram (2016) and Jaren Jackson Jr. (2019).

A total of 29 select team members have joined USA National Teams that have competed at the Olympic Games or the FIBA ​​World Cup. Including the above as well as Harrison Barnes (2016, 2019), Shane Battier (2006), Devin Booker (2020), Demarcus Cousins ​​(2014, 2016), DeMar DeRozan (2014, 2016), Kevin Durant (2010, 2016), Paul (2016, 2016, 2016, 2016) 16, 2016, 2016, 2016), 20). 2010, 2014), Marcus Smart (2019), Klay Thompson (2014, 2016), Myles Turner (2019), Kemba Walker (2019), Russell Westbrook (2010, 2012) and Derrick White (2019).

Leave a Comment