Man Utd, Spurs have no Premier League title winners with Brighton ahead of Arsenal

Nine Premier League clubs have a title-winning player in their ranks after Man Utd confirmed the exit of both their medalists this summer.

With Phil Jones long gone from Old Trafford, Man Utd confirmed fellow 2012/13 champion David de Gea would join him in the Old Trafford departure lounge as a free agent.

The situation did not sit well with Rio Ferdinand but it leaves Erik ten Hag with a clean slate and – for the first time since the first season in 1992/93 – a Man Utd squad with no experience of winning the Premier League.

Most of those with championship gold predictably play for the last two title-winning teams, but many have sown their oats considerably wider in the time since.

1) Manchester City – 22 players
The reigning Premier League champions have a couple of Premier League title winners in their ranks. There you can just see?

2) Liverpool – 11 players
While many members of the 2019/20 squad have left, there remains a core of players that Jurgen Klopp clings to for dear life as a particularly meaningful comfort blanket.

3=) Barcelona – 4 players (Ilkay Gundogan, Marcos Alonso, Eric Garcia and Ferran Torres)
The bare-bones attempts to lure Pep Guardiola back by tempting him with a bunch of familiar faces after his Nou Camp return are getting a little pathetic really.

3=) Leicester – 4 players (Jonny Evans, Marc Albrighton, Daniel Amartey and Jamie Vardy)
Three players who went all the way from champions to championship with the Foxes, as well as Evans who jumped on board later but qualified by virtue of his Man Utd past.

5) Brighton – 3 players (James Milner, Danny Welbeck and Adam Lallana)
Tony Bloom’s quest to rebuild and retrospectively validate England’s 2014 World Cup squad continues apace.

6=) AC Milan – 2 players (Ruben Loftus-Cheek and Divock Origi)
Milan’s Premier League title-winning pair can compare stories of watching glory unfold from the bench – although it should be noted that Origi (698 minutes, four goals, three assists) played a slightly more prominent role in success than Loftus-Cheek (32 minutes ) , 25 passes).

6=) Arsenal – 2 players (Gabriel Jesus and Oleksandr Zinchenko)
It could have been a few more, but the virginal naivety of the rest of Mikel Arteta’s side meant they completely botched it.

6=) Atletico Madrid – 2 players (Cesar Azpilicueta and Stefan Savic)
One player didn’t miss a minute of the last of his two title triumphs; the other started five games to earn his only medal.

6=) Bayern Munich – 2 players (Leroy Sane and Sadio Mane)
The Bundesliga giants specifically want to sign Harry Kane so they can field an attacking triumvirate with remarkably similar surnames, albeit still with only two of them having won a Premier League title (or anything).

6=) Fenerbahce – 2 players (Edin Dzeko and Michy Batshuayi)
After reaching a Champions League final, Dzeko has been tempted to join Batshuayi in the eclectic Turkish Super Lig Golden Boot race; Enner Valencia won last season, retaining Mbaye Diagne, Mauro Icardi and Fabio Borini.

6=) Flamengo – 2 players (Filipe Luis and David Luiz)
Nice stuff. Their transfer targets are believed to include Rico Lewis and 50s club Jefferson Louis, who is currently on loan at Slough Town at the age of 44.

6=) Real Madrid – 2 players (Thibaut Courtois and Brahim Diaz)
While Real Madrid love a signing from the Premier Leagueonly two of their current crop actually won the big one before making the move.

6=) Roma – 2 players (Chris Smalling and Nemanja Matic)
Jose Mourinho inherited Smaldair but took his favorite Serbian teddy bear to the Italian capital.

14=) Chelsea – 1 player (Raheem Sterling)
The Blues have gotten rid of most of their Champions League winners from two years ago, never mind the Premier League champions four years earlier. And Ben Chilwell didn’t play a single game for Leicester in 2015/16, so shush.

14=) Crystal Palace – 1 player (Jeff Schlupp)
Roy Hodgson’s last league championship medal is from the Danish Superliga 2001, so even the 75-year-old will be impressed by Schlupp’s silverware.

14=) Everton – 1 player (Demarai Grey)
A Premier League winner within four months of making his top-flight debut, Gray played 176 minutes for Leicester and was substituted at half-time in his only start, but they all count.

14=) Nottingham Forest – 1 player (Neco Williams)
Having timed his professional ascent so badly that he was only the second-best academy-produced right-back in a brilliant Liverpool side, Williams instead sought actual playing opportunities at the City Ground.

14=) West Ham – 1 player (Kurt Zouma)
Across two title-winning seasons under different Chelsea managers, Zouma quite impressively made just 24 appearances. In two West Ham campaigns he has at least matched that figure, if not the subsequent title crowning.

Kurt Zouma carries the ball

14=) 35 other clubs – 1 player

Adana Demirspor (Gokhan Inler)

Al Ahly (Roberto Firmino)

Al-Ittihad (N’Golo Kante)

Al-Nassr (Cristiano Ronaldo)

Arta/Solar 7 (Salomon Kalou)

Athletico Paranaense (Fernandinho)

Benfica (Nicolas Otamendi)

Botafogo (Rafael da Silva)

Bristol City (Andy King)

Cadiz (Alvaro Negredo)

Celtic (Joe Hart)

Cerezo Osaka (Shinji Kagawa)

Chicago Fire (Xherdan Shaqiri)

The County (Alexander Buttner)

Guild (Fabio da Silva)

Juventus (Danilo)

LA Galaxy (Javier Hernandez)

READ MORE: Ranking every Premier League title decider from Aguero to the Battle of Bridge and Manchester City cuts

Lazio (Pedro)

Lyon (Dejan Lovren)

Majorca (Matija Nastasic)

Monaco (Takumi Minamino)

Nice (Kasper Schmeichel)

PSG (Georginio Wijnaldum)

Real Betis (Claudio Bravo)

Royal Society (David Silva)

Royal Antwerp (Ritchie De Laet)

Servette (Gael Clichy)

Sevilla (Jesus Navas)

Shanghai Port (Oscar)

Sint-Truiden (Shinji Okazaki)

Sion (Mario Balotelli)

Spartak Moscow (Victor Moses)

Sydney FC (Jack Rodwell)

Werder Bremen (near Keita)

West Brom (Nathaniel Chalobah)

Leave a Comment